BTS People

BTS Executive Committee

Derek Manas

Derek Manas

BTS President

Professor Manas has been developing the UK’s very first ‘Institute for Transplantation’ – a fully integrated facility dedicated to all aspects of transplantation as well as fostering research and development all under one roof.

2 Year Term
2015-2017

Freeman Hospital, Liver Transplant Unit, Ward 12, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

T. 0191 223 1192
president@bts.org.uk

Lorna Marson

Lorna Marson

BTS Vice-President

Lorna has a clinical research portfolio that encompasses factors affecting cold ischaemic time, the impact of the virtual cross match and the management of antibody-mediated rejection.

2 Year Term
2015-2017

Queens Medical Research Institute, Room E2.46, University of Edinburgh, Little France Crescent, Edinburgh, EH16 4SA

Lorna.marson@ed.ac.uk

Rachel Hilton

Rachel Hilton

BTS Treasurer

Rachel Hilton has been a consultant nephrologist at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust since 1999 and has held an honorary appointment in the School of Medicine at King’s College London since 2006.

4 Year Term
2016-2020

Renal Offices, Borough Wing, Great Maze Pond, London SE1 9RT

T. 020 7188 5691
Rachel.Hilton@gstt.nhs.uk

Lisa Burnapp

Lisa Burnapp

BTS General Secretary

Lisa Burnapp has more than 20 years experience in renal nursing and she has been involved with the living donor programme at Guy‘s and St Thomas’ since 1995. She is a consultant nurse advisor to NHS Blood & Transplant.

3 Year Term
2015-2018

Renal Offices, Guy & St Thomas Hospital, 6th Floor, Borough Wing, St Thomas Street, London, SE1 9RT

T. 02071885646
Lisa.burnapp@nhsbt.nhs.uk

BTS Council Members

Roberto Cacciola

Roberto Cacciola

Councillor

3 Year Term
2016-2019

Renal Transplant Unit, Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel Road, London E1 1BB

T. 0207 377 7029
Roberto.Cacciola
@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Prof Vassilios Papalois

Prof Vassilios Papalois

Councillor

3 Year Term
2014-2017

Directorate of Renal & Transplant surgery, 4th Floor, Hammersmith House, Hammersmith Hospital, London, W12 0HS

T. 0208 383 5165
vassilios.papalois
@imperial.nhs.uk

Rachel Johnson

Rachel Johnson

Councillor

3 Year Term
2015-2018

Head of Organ Donation & Transplantation Studies, NHS Blood & Transplant, Fox Den Road, Stoke Gifford, Bristol, Gloucs, BS34 8RR

T. 0117 975 7543
rachel.johnson@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Nicholas Torpey

Nicholas Torpey

Councillor

3 Year Term
2014-2017

Nephrology, Box 118, Hills Road, Cambridge, CB2 2QQ

T. 01223 217180
Nicholas.torpey
@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

David Briggs

David Briggs

Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics

3 Year Term
2016-2019

Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics, Vincent Drive, Birmingham,B15 2SG

T. 0121 278 4099
david.briggs@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Krishna Menon

Krishna Menon

Liver Transplantation

3 Year Term
2015-2018

London Bridge Hopsital, 27-29 Tooley Street, London, SE1 2PR

T. 0113 206 5122
kvmenon@aol.com

Paul Gibbs

Paul Gibbs

Transplant Surgery

3 Year Term
2014-2017

Wessex Renal & Transplant Service, Queen Alexandra Hospital, Southwick Hill Road, Cosham, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 3LY

T. 02392 286000
paul.gibbs@porthosp.nhs.uk

Diane Evans

Diane Evans

Coordination/Transplant Nursing

3 Year Term
2014-2017

Transplant Co-ordinators Office, Southmead Road, Bristol BS10 5NB

T. 0117 323 5228
diane.evans@nbt.nhs.uk

John Dark

John Dark

Cardiothoracic Transplantation

3 Year Term
2014-2017

Cardiothoracic Centre, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

T. 0191 223 1450
j.h.dark@ncl.ac.uk

Maria Hernandez Fuentes

Maria Hernandez Fuentes

Basic Science

3 Year Term
2015-2018

Senior Lecturer in Translational Research

T. 0207 18 85435
maria.hernandez@kcl.ac.uk

Catherine Boffa

Catherine Boffa

Carrel Club President

Elected by Carrel Club Members
2016-2019

Association for UK Transplant Surgical trainees

T. 07763 722844
catherine.boffa@nhs.net

Mark Roberts

Mark Roberts

Donor Coordination

3 Year Term
2015-2018

Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics, Vincent Drive, Birmingham,B15 2SG

T. 0121 278 4099
david.briggs@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Darius Mirza

Darius Mirza

Co-opted

Co-opted
August 2015

T. 0121 371 4638
Darius.Mirza@uhb.nhs.uk

Mark Hudson

Mark Hudson

Co-opted

Co-opted
August 2015

T. 0191 213 7244
Mark.hudson@nuth.nhs.uk

Stephen Large

Stephen Large

Co-opted

Co-opted
June 2016

T. 07753 600135
Stephen.large@gmail.com

Other BTS Members

James Douglas

James Douglas

Archivist

Appointed by Council
June 2016

T. 02891 853674
jamesfdouglas38@hotmail.com

Jan Shorrock

Jan Shorrock

Media Consultant

Appointed by Council
Feb 2016

 

BTS_FWL_Voice

BTS_FWL_BePart

The aim of the Society is to advance the study of the biological and clinical problems of tissue and organ transplantation, to facilitate contact between persons interested in transplantation, and to make new knowledge available to any person for the general good of the community.

Prof. Derek Manas
Prof. Derek ManasBTS President